Filling My Days

I have now been in Churchill for 11 days. Having spent much of that time in ICU and now on the Renal Transplant Ward.

What exactly goes on in the day and how do I keep myself occupied?

The day starts at about 6am when blood pressure, temperature and SpO2 readings are taken. These will be repeated at regular intervals throughout the day. Now I’m on Renal I no longer have the continuous monitoring of ICU.

A phlebotomist will visit to take bloods at about 7am, but as I’m having more dialysis today I have asked they are taken then – to save superfluous needling in my poor bloated left arm.

Breakfast will be at about 8am – I have opted more recently for cereal (Bran Flakes) and a cup of tea, having initially gone for toast and marmalade. I am also presented with meal options for the day. I try to go for a lighter lunch and a dinner, but could eat my main meal at either or both! Today I’m not so keen on the evening offering so am reversing the dinner option and a lighter tea.

About 9am I will get a visit from the doctors usually with an entourage of interns / students / junior doctors. They will discuss my progress and make decisions like the need for daily dialysis until Monday..

Then the physios will arrive with a plan to get me moving. Initially it was to get me out of bed and sitting in a chair, measuring BP throughout. Yesterday unencumbered by most of my attachments I went for two walks. First to the end of the bay (a matter of twenty five steps back and forth) followed in the afternoon by a walk to the edge of the ward and back (about 5 times the earlier distance) carrying my attachments with me. After a week of complete inaction that was tougher than it sounds but I coped well and BP was maintained above 100 throughout.

Yesterday I also had a morning visit from the dietician who outlined my dietary choices and the pharmacist who wanted to talk through my new and extensive drug regime. – I will talk more in a future blog about both of these issues

Lunch was at 12. Carrot and coriander soup and a roll followed by Yogurt

Then in the afternoon a further visit from the doctors who confirmed dialysis between 6 and 8pm.. A further visit from the physiotherapist (see above)

Dinner came at 5pm – Burger in onion gravy and carrots followed by apple and apricot sponge (I forgot to ask for custard). Then off to dialysis.

Anita visits many days but the two hour round trip after work is gruelling so currently we are moving to a once every two days. The phone has been invented after all.

There is a lot going on but in between there is a lot of time to fill- though it is often disturbed by a medical visit / test.

I usually start by writing a daily blog in the morning, something that helps me to get my thoughts together as well as informing those that interested about my situation.

Whilst doing this I am listening to iTunes. I have a number of Curated playlists some are based on specific Musical Artists, others are Thematic. Currently I’m listing to a playlist called Questions Questions – the song titles either contain a ‘? ‘or the words ‘Who,’ ‘What,’ ‘When’, ‘Why,’ ‘How’

There is a mix of genres which I quite like. Below is what has been played so far this morning and what is about to be played.

I have some Bluetooth headphones and play on either my iPhone or the PC – sometimes the internet connectivity for the PC is poor compared to the phone.

Then there are games. There are three I play at the moment. Dominations which is a city building and battle simulation.

Then there is Merge Mansion a mystery game where secrets are uncovered whilst pairing various items, to make more powerful ones.

Finally there is an online version of Scrabble called Words with Friends.

I am also able to watch BBC IPlayer, Amazon Prime and Netflix as WiFi allows, it’s better here in Renal.

I am currently working through Star Trek Voyager. All 7 seasons for the third or fourth time.

Of course there is also times of quiet and reflection but I try to keep busy. I need to give my ears a break from the headphones occasionally.

2 thoughts on “Filling My Days

  1. Really interesting, bro. Thanks for sharing. Love the fact that ‘Am I in sync?’ is there. Fantastic song! I’m watching Voyager again, too. I’m on Series 4. I decided that resisting watching Voyager again, really was futile! Take care, bro. 😊🙏👊

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.