Headache

I have woken with a bad headache. Interestingly that in the last few months my general health has been good and I have had little in the way of other illness. 

At the same time I have been much more attuned to my body. I think the fact you’re being tested and measured on such a regular basis makes you aware of the minutiae.

This is the first headache I recall over recent months. Inevitably as I lay in bed overnight tossing and turning with my sore head my mind raced. It’s easy to exaggerate at night. I think the fact I have suffered a serious illness coupled with the fact I ignored my sore shoulder for too long prior to diagnosis makes me overly aware of aches and pains.

I do have to be very careful about my temperature which must not go above 37.5°C, but this morning I’m 36.8°C. My ongoing kidney issues make me sensitive to change, so diet still needs to be controlled. I think it would be easy to obsess over illness if I were not careful and yet at the same time I need to be alert. 

Even so current data shows that (kidney apart) my body is functioning normally, so nothing to get overly exercised about.  

A greater challenge lies ahead post stem cell transplantation as I will be immunocompromised and therefore prone to pick up any disease, though I am assured this is unlikely.

However, that is not the case at the moment. For now I have to remember a headache is just a headache, I’ve had plenty before, take two paracetamol and wait for it to go and, as you might expect, in the course of writing this blog post it has.

One thought on “Headache

Comments are closed.