Overbooked

Another night in which I did not sleep well. At least this time I had something to keep me occupied when I was awake as I watched the progress of my sons flight to Tanzania. You can get apps that track plane flights and if you know the flight number you can get a clear idea of where they are on the map.

Scarily the plane flew over both Syria and Iraq – though high in the sky I imagine, before landing in the UAE. 

What a surprise then to find out that in the UAE the flight was overbooked and that he had been bumped to the next flight.  Calls to the airline were to no avail as the flight went and he was stuck. In spite of compensation and a rebooked flight it does not help at the other end where local carrier FastJet do not honour flights and new bookings must be made. The internal flight may prove to be the hardest to sort out. Let alone the fact that Anita had paid for return tickets to meet him in Dar es Salaam today.

I have encouraged him to visit the UAE whist he is there to make the best of a bad situation. It’s a chance to see somewhere new, even if it was unplanned.

Meanwhile this practice of overbooking flights is immoral and leaves customers stranded – the rep I spoke to at 5am tried to tell me it was an option but in fact it was presented as no choice at all. 
It’s a very frustrating day for everyone!

2 thoughts on “Overbooked

  1. 😡So annoying for all of you! And so unnecessary! I do pray that it will all get sorted with no more problems. Praying for him stuck until his next flight.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

