Oncoming Cold

An itchy feeling in the nose. A tingling in the throat. There is no doubt about it there is a cold coming.

Statistically people with multiple myeloma are 15 x more likely to pick up infections than those without. At this stage the symptoms are mild but I need to watch my temperature carefully – if it rises to above 37.5°C then I need to immediately contact the hospital and will probably be admitted. For now I remain at 37ºC.

My neutrophil levels remain high, meaning my body still has the ability to fight infection effectively.

Even so I’ve obviously caught a cold from someone somewhere.

The easiest way to stay healthy is to avoid the infection in the first place by avoiding large crowds and people who are known to be sick. Other than that ensuring fruit and veg is washed and  food is cooked thoroughly, hands are washed thoroughly using soap and / or anti-bacterial liquid.

For now I just need to take some paracetamol, get plenty of rest and see what happens.

6 thoughts on “Oncoming Cold

  1. Praying that it doesn’t develop and temperature stays down. Always find Echinacea at the first signs of a cold really help!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know exactly what you mean. I passed through it in my leukemia ( i have hairy cell leukemia) . As you know, avoid the crowds.Thanks for sharing, I don’t know you, but my thoughts are with you. Take care 🙂 stay strong!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.