Yoyo Blood

I’ve never liked looking at blood – I can cope with needles but blood extraction is a nightmare – yet I have had to endure daily blood tests and continuous stabbing. My arms look like a heroine addict there are so many puncture holes.

All this has been the result of my blood contents and a side affect of the Myeloma on the kidney.

Sadly I have had a very bad sickness bug whilst here – violent and fast acting (the worst 6 hours ever in truth) it messed up my kidney recovery leading to a rise in Potassium levels.

Potassium levels have been excessive (Hyperkalemia) and this brings with it the danger of a heart attack – so I have had to go on an  ECG (Electro Cardiogram) for many hours yesterday and again today. In addition a Salbutamol Nebuliser followed by a Insulin / glucose.

IMG_1367
My best Darth Vader – May the 4th be with you! (well almost)

Followed by half hourly blood sugar checks – also dropping back to normal, in addition to blood samples to check the potassium levels.

As a haemaphobe this is going a long way to cure my fears.

The levels were down by last night and I was taken off over night – sadly they still fluctuate and I am back on again today. Very frustrating. Some times it seems two steps forward, one step back.img_1365

The other factor is the need to be on blood thinning medication called Heparin which has been administered since arrival here via intravenous drip. Finally this has stopped in the past 24 hours and I have been transferred on onto Warfarin – initially in tandem with Heparin. My kidneys will not tolerate the newer drugs or at least it has not proven safe to do so. At the time of writing I am not on a drip though still on heart monitor, which will hopefully be removed before bed. The clot still sits in my leg but is slowly dissolving – I will be on Warfarin for a long time – ensuring the blood remains free and flowing – my inability to exercise is possibly slowing things down but with a virus in the hospital I won’t be travelling far quickly.

Either way yoyo blood needs to be monitored carefully and this means I will not be leaving hospital until it is stable.

The nursing here on Haematology is as excellent as in M.E.A.U. and I really cannot fault the NHS – it is an extremely worthy institution and long may it reign  and free from overt political interference. Sadly this will not happen unless action is taken soon.

See this for a powerful info-video about the real dangers facing the NHS in the coming years.

Last night I began the most critical phase of my treatment with my first dose of Chemotherapy – of which more next time.

5 thoughts on “Yoyo Blood

Leave a Reply

