Journeys

A day in Nairobi and I needed to get out and do something.

For one I had no ‘winter clothes’ with me. One long sleeved top, no long trousers, two pairs of socks. I had packed for a short holiday on the equator, plenty of shorts, t-shirts, swimming trunks, a pair of sandals and fortuitously a pair or trainers. No way was I prepared for a cold April in Europe – where temperatures were hovering not much above zero.

The Kroppach family were heading to an enormous new shopping centre called Two Rivers and invited me to get a lift with them. They were heading to a large Carrefour Supermarché, but told me about the western style clothing outlets there – where I could pick up some much needed warmer clothes at a good price.

My wife and daughter were by now back in Mwanza, being forced to pay a visa to go back in – even though this is not a requirement – a little corruption a long the way for someone to earn dollars – one thing I will not miss about Africa – sadly.

For me, still in Nairobi, it was weird to be in such a thoroughly western environment, I enjoyed my time in the cafés and shops a enjoying hot ginger tea and even a Burger King (albeit without a Bacon Double Cheeseburger on offer!)

The centre was truly impressive with it’s own water gardens and funfair.

IMG_1329

Eventually it was time to leave and head back to the Kroppach family for the last night.

Up early for a morning flight to to Europe – this was to be an 11 hour flight –  with an hour stop over in Schipol, Amesterdam.

The plane  was a little delayed but touched down at Heathrow in the early evening. Back in Britain – unexpectedly – three months early and for a very different reason.

My brother, son and parents in law were there to great me and it was great to enjoy a couple of hours and some coffee together as the rush hour subsided. Familiar people in a familiar land – yet suddenly so different.IMG_1333

I was exhausted as we headed around the M25 for Harlow and a good night’s sleep.

 

 

